So my sister, Sparklycactus, has some pretty severe food allergies.
For the most part her diet is Vegan. So of course, vegan cookbooks interest me. Opening this cookbook, I find that just in the breakfast menu she can only eat about 7 of the items, and that’s without checking the ingredients on each recipe.
I opened another vegan cookbook that said on the cover “for all your non dairy, non meat and non sugar cooking!” …the FIRST ingredient of the FIRST recipe? Butter. Last I checked, butter was a dairy product.
My sister will tell you how often “vegan” recipes call for dairy, or sugar, making them not true vegan. She has to be vegan out of necessity, and she’ll neither bring it up, nor talk about it, and probably be annoyed at me for this post.
I suppose my sisters, mom and I should collaborate and try to make an “Allergy and Vegan free” cookbook, with alternate fruit options (like a pear pie instead of apple… and yes, it’s yummy). Who knows, it might even sell.
(tumblr ate this post 3 goddamn times… so out of the 4 versions I wrote… of course it posts the LEAST funny one of them all. I’m too annoyed to try to be funny this time.)